Australia’s Big Guns Return to the T20 World Cup with a 15-Man Squad

On Thursday, Australia selected a full-strength squad with the hopes of winning the ICC T20 World Cup later this year. Steven Smith, David Warner, and Pat Cummins were all recalled. The trio recently declined to participate in Australia’s limited-overs tour of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

The online betting on cricket debunked rumors that Australia will hold off on sending some of its best players to the World Cup in October-November to prepare for a busy summer, which includes an Ashes series against England.

Some Old Players Return

The 15-man Australian crew for the masterpiece presented in Oman and the United Arab Emirates in October is a mix-up of speed, spin, and hard-hitters, with the slow, spin-friendly situations in the UAE.

According to online betting on cricket, Australia has added uncapped Josh Inglis as a backup wicketkeeper to Matthew Wade, a significant development. Inglis was picked ahead of Alex Carey and Josh Philipps, who have yet to play for Australia.

Australia would be anxious to break their ODI World Cup curse at the T20 World Cup, having dominated it with a record five titles and two runner-up places. It has had a nasty run-in T20 cricket recently, losing back-to-back series against the West Indies and Bangladesh.

According to the online betting on cricket, after opting out of recent white-ball tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Warner, Cummins, Steven Smith, and Kane Richardson will return to Australia’s lineup, providing much-needed firepower. Despite his persistent elbow ailment, Smith has been included in the limited-overs. Aaron Finch, who missed the Bangladesh series due to knee surgery, is likely to be ready in time for the competition.

Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, and Daniel Sams are designated reserves and will accompany the squad on the trip. Australia has included three frontline spinners: Ashton Agar, Mitchell Swepson, and Adam Zampa, with the spin-friendly conditions in mind. The tempo will be controlled by Mitchell Starc, Cummins, Richardson, and Josh Hazlewood.

According to online betting on cricket, Australia’s top selector George Bailey stated that they are convinced that this team can push the side further into an extremely tough competition. In their positions, they have some of the finest players in the world and the collective experience to triumph against the best T20 teams in the globe.

The Squad

According to the online betting on cricket, the squad will consist of:

  • Ashton Agar
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Josh Inglis
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Steven Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Kane Richardson
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • Matthew Wade
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa
  • Aaron Finch (captain)
  • Pat Cummins (vice-captain)

The T20 World Cup will be carried on from October 17 to November 14 and include 16 teams. On October 23, Australia will face South Africa in the Super 12 stage of the tournament. Because of the COVID-19 issue in India, the event was moved to the UAE and Oman.

About FantasyBet Team