Indian Premier League – 2021

The Indian Premier League, popularised as the IPL, started in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The tournament’s primary aim was to recognise and promote Indian cricketing talent while entertaining the fans. It promoted the sport while facilitating a revenue for the board. For the first time in history, fans could root for players of different countries, till then considered enemies of the Indian cricket team.

8 teams were part of the original franchise and the biggest names of Bollywood and various industries participated in an auction to become team owners. Each team is based in a city, their home team.

The IPL tournament has only Twenty-Twenty [T-20] matches.