India Fields a Second String Team for Sri Lanka under Shikhar Dhawan

In an unprecedented move, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a second-string team for the white ball series in Sri Lanka, scheduled in July 2021. The tour comes across just when the main team is visiting England for the much-awaited ICC Test World Championship finale and the subsequent high-profile bilateral series against the hosts. Never before had India fielded two different teams simultaneously for two different international fixtures.

If the experiment pays off, other teams might follow suit. In future, we may see teams fielding two units, provided their bench strength allows them to. Why? Well, cricket is being played amid the pandemic, and teams require fulfilling the quarantine requirements, which consume time and make teams weary. Having two teams means double the action and half the ordeal. How the series would pan out only time will tell but there’s a lot to look forward to.


Per the latest cricket match news, the Indian tour of Sri Lanka features three ODIs and three T20Is. The entire white-ball series is cramped within thirteen days, starting 13th July 2021 with the first ODI and concluding with the final T20I on 25th July 2021.

ODI Schedule:

Match Date Venue Time (IST)
1st ODI 13th July Colombo 01:30 PM
2nd ODI 16th July Colombo 01:30 PM
3rd ODI 18th July Colombo 01:30 PM

T20I Schedule:

Match Date Venue Time (IST)
1st T20I 21st July Colombo 07:00 PM
2nd T20I 23rd July Colombo 07:00 PM
3rd T20I 25th July Colombo 07:00 PM

Squad: by Shikhar Dhawan, a prolific run-scorer who fell out of favour with national selectors of late.

As the latest news about cricket poured in, we learnt that the 20 member squad would be led The ace speedster, Bhubaneswar Kumar would be his deputy. Both missed the England tour and would be keen to stamp their authority against a hapless and controversy-ridden Sri Lanka.

Six players have received their maiden India call-up, including Devdutt Padikkal, Nitesh Rana, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Varun Chakravarthy. The opener, Prithvi Shaw, and middle-order batsman, Manish Pandey, have staged a comeback to the national team after a long layoff. Ishan Kishan and his Mumbai India team-mate, Surya Kumar Yadav have walked into the squad for the rollicking start both had to their international career against England recently.

The series could see Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav bowl in tandem, as they used to a few years back. A promising youngster, Rahul Chahar might earn his maiden India cap in ODIs.

Combined ODI and T20 Squad:

Player Role
Shikhar Dhawan (Captain) Batsman
Bhubaneswar Kumar (Vice-captain) Bowler
Prithvi Shaw Batsman
Devdutt Padikkal Batsman
Ruturaj Gaikwad Batsman
Surya Kumar Yadav Batsman
Manish Pandey Batsman
Hardik Pandya All-rounder
Nitesh Rana Batsman
Ishan Kishan Wicket-keeper batsman
Sanju Samson Wicket-keeper batsman
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler
Rahul Chahar Bowler
K Gowtham All-rounder
Krunal Pandya All-rounder
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler
Varun Chakravarthy Bowler
Deepak Chahar Bowler
Navdeep Saini Bowler
Chetan Sakariya All-rounder

We are eagerly waiting for some explosive on-field action. Bookmark this site for more information on matches and players.

About FantasyBet Team