IPL Facts: The top 5 Run Getters in IPL Ever

The Indian Premier League (IPL) represents the ultimate in league cricket with top players, big contracts and ample glamour. With top batsmen come top performances. But some batsmen have been more consistent than others, accumulating runs in heaps.

Here’re the top five run-getters in the history of IPL. A spoiler – four of them are Indians. Surprising? Not really. They are accomplished batsmen playing in familiar conditions, after all.

Table: Top 5 Run Getters in IPL History

Position Player Matches Innings Runs H score Average S Rate 100/50
1. Virat Kohli 199 191 6076 113 37.97 130.41 05/40
2. Shikhar Dhawan 184 183 5577 106* 35.29 127.35 02/44
3. Suresh Raina 200 195 5491 100* 33.07 136.89 01/39
4. Rohit Sharma 207 202 5480 109* 31.49 130.50 01/40
5. David Warner 148 148 5447 126 42.22 140.13 04/50

1. Virat Kohli:

Records have come thick and fast for King Kohli in his 14 years of IPL. Perhaps the best batsman across formats, King Kohli leads the leader board with 6076 runs in 191 outings with 5 centuries and 40 half-centuries. Add to it the strike rate (130.41) and average (37.97), the numbers are simply astounding. He’s the first and the only batsman to cross the six thousand mark in IPL.

Kohli made his IPL debut for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2008 and came through the ranks to captain the side since 2013. After initial indifferent seasons, Kohli started coming into his own in 2013, finishing with 634 runs at a healthy average of 45.28. The 2016 edition was special for him, as he notched up 973 runs at an average of 81.08 to claim the Orange Cap.

2. Shikhar Dhawan:

Shikhar has been a cog in the wheel of India as well as all IPL teams he has represented, including Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and his current team, Delhi Capitals. In 14 IPL seasons, the southpaw has amassed 5577 in 183 innings, averaging 35.29 and striking at 127.35.

In 2016, Shikhar helped Sunrisers Hyderabad clinch its first IPL title, scoring 501 runs at an average of 38.53 to be Hyderabad’s second-highest run-getter. He is the only batsman ever in IPL to score two consecutive hundreds in 2020 and 5th batsman to get past the 5K mark in IPL.

3. Suresh Raina:

Raina has earned the moniker, Mr. IPL for his sheer consistency. In 200 outings thus far, he has raked in 5491 runs, averaging 33.07 and striking at 136.89. Raina made his IPL debut in 2008 for Chennai Super Kings and stuck with the franchise for most of his IPL career. Besides captaining CSK in absence of Dhoni, he also led Gujarat Lions when CSK served a suspension.

With elegance, agility, and power game, Raina is a welcome addition to any middle order. He can stabilize innings when his team loses early wickets and build on a solid start to accelerate the scoring. His records would have been a bit better had he not missed the 2020 edition for personal reasons. Raina is a livewire in the field, executing run-outs and catching stunners.

4. Rohit Sharma:

You can’t leave Rohit out of any leader board, especially in white-ball cricket. The Mumbai-lad has all shots in the book and executes them with incredible grace and ease. When in full flow, no other batsman can match his panache, stroke play and appetite for big runs.

Since debuting in 2008, he has gone on to score 5480 runs, placing him 4th on the list. In 202 innings, he averages 31.49 and strikes at 130.50. His only IPL hundred (109 not out) came in the 2012 edition against KKR. He is a fine leader as well, leading MI to a record 5 title wins.

5. David Warner:

The only non-Indian to feature in the list, Warner has been a standout performer in IPL. The Aussie has led SRH from the front to its sole IPL title in 2016, scoring 848 runs. He has helped himself to 5447 in 148 outings, alongside 4 centuries and 50 half-centuries.

We are waiting for these scores to be usurped, and look forward to see who will get to this list!

About FantasyBet Team