Key Stars Players Return As Australia Name Preliminary Squad For West Indies Tour

Australia cricket has recently announced its preliminary 23-man squad for the forthcoming white-ball tour of the West Indies. It encompasses five Twenty20 internationals and three one-day internationals across Barbados and St. Lucia in July 2021. The squad has many IPL players who have returned home from India on May 17th with the Board of Control for Cricket through arranging a chartered flight for the players who had gone to Maldives post the tournament in early May. IPL has halted due to the increase of COVID-19 cases across the nation and within the secure bio-bubble of IPL.

Marnus Labuschagne will miss out on the tour because he is featuring for Glamorgan in the county championship. This is because there is a restriction from traveling from the UK and associated quarantine procedures.

Who Are In The Preliminary Squad Of Australia?

Following are the members of the preliminary squad for Australia:

  • Aaron Finch (Captain)
  • Pat Cummins
  • Alex Carey
  • Ashton Agar
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Jason Behrendroff
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Moises Henriques
  • Josh Philippe
  • Riley Meredith
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Tanveer Sangha
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Kane Richardson
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Steve Smith
  • D’Arcy Short
  • Andrew Tye
  • Mitchell Swepson
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Adam Zampa
  • David Warner
  • Matthew Wade

Also Read: Cricket Match Predictions: Australia tour of West Indies 2021

The national selector, Trevor Horns, said that the preliminary list offers selectors a strong base from which to select a final touring party in the approaching week, enabling players to prepare. He further added that the T20 squad of the Australian team has the ability to match with any other team in the world.

Horns added that West Indie’s team had won two out of the six ICC T20 World Cups, including the most recent tournament hosted in India and 2016. And, the upcoming series will offer Australia good preparation ahead of the match in October and November.

The 2021 World Cup is all geared up to be hosted on the slow pitches of either the United Arab Emirates or India. Moreover, a lot of spinners have received the nod, with Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa leading the names. Mitchell Swepson, the leg-spinner who was associated with the Test team in the summer, and Tanveer Sangha, who was part of the NZ white-ball tour, have also made it to the 23-man squad.

Hohns further added that Mitch Swepson has been in great form through the three forms of the game. The Big Bash performances that he played with Heat have been exceptional. Additionally, his bowling has also been exceptional for Queensland.

Tanveer Sanga was also very impressive when he played for the Thunder, and the team regards him highly. Although he was not a part of the New Zealand tour, it was an excellent opportunity for a young bowler to be present around the squad. In addition to the players like Aston and Adam, the Australian team is also fortunate to have four skilled spinners on the latest list. David Warner, Steve Smith, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Moises Henriques, and Alex Carey have all returned to the 2021 list of the player.

We are here to bring you the latest news from around the world.

About FantasyBet Team