Know how many times CSK had made it to the IPL finals

The IPL is more than just a domestic league. Rather, it’s a celebration of cricket and Bollywood, two of the biggest crowd pullers in India. Each year, the biggest players from across the world visit India to be a part of the biggest cricket league, showcase their talent and skills and earn big.

Thirteen teams from eleven cities/states have featured in the league at different points in time since 2008. Eight teams are still a part of the league while five have gone invalid, such as Pune Warriors, Gujarat Lions, Deccan Chargers, Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Rising Pune Supergiant.

Chennai Super Kings is undoubtedly the most consistent of all teams to ever feature in IPL. It has always been a strong team with the right mix of talent and experience. Despite the ageing core and a lacklustre 2020 edition, CSK can give the more fancied teams a run for their money.

CSK Records:

Under MS Dhoni’s inspirational leadership, CSK has a tremendous track record. The team has three title victories to its credit, the second-highest for any IPL team after Mumbai Indians. The Chennai based franchise won its maiden title in 2010 and repeated the feat in the next season. The third title came in the 2018 edition, soon after it returned from a two-year ban.

CSK has the highest win percentage (59.37), making them one of the most successful teams. Besides three CSK team total wins in IPL, the franchise has played 10 playoffs, the maximum for any IPL team ever. That’s not all, CSK has featured in record 8 finals, winning 3 and losing 5. That’s commendable for a team that missed two seasons due to a ban for match-fixing.

Here’s a description of their total appearances in IPL finals.

1. 2008:

CSK stormed into the finals of the inaugural IPL, riding high on all-around performance. But, Rajasthan Royals proved to be the better team on the day, thanks to Yusuf Pathan’s heroics.

2. 2010:

In 2010, CSK was up against Mumbai Indians in the summit clash. CSK posted 168 runs on the board and MI could only manage 146/9. CSK won the contest though, a rivalry was developed.

3. 2011:

With 11 wins in 16 outings and a terrific 68.75 win percentage, the defending champions met Rajasthan Royals in the finals. CSK avenged the 2008 defeat and lifted the trophy twice in a row.

4. 2012:

CSK posted a healthy total of 190, thanks to Suresh Raina’s knock of 73 in 38 balls. But Kolkata Knight Riders chased it with 2 balls remaining to deny CSK their third consecutive title win.

5. 2013:

In a record fourth final appearance in a row, CSK lost to the arch-rivals MI. In a low scoring contest, CSK failed to chase down 148, despite Dhoni’s brilliance. It was the first title for MI.

6. 2015:

The two rivals met again in the decider where MI posted an imposing total of 202. CSK was never in the chase and finished the innings at 161/8.

7. 2018:

Coming back from a two-year ban, CSK wanted to salvage some pride. They did it and how. With a 68.75 win percentage, it stormed into the finals and defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Note that, CSK team total wins in IPL are 107 in 181 games it has played in IPL.

About FantasyBet Team