Latest Cricket News: Pakistan Announce Squad for England Tour

With not much international cricket at home, Pakistan has in the recent past consistently toured England to feature in a bilateral series against the hosts. On Friday, June 25, the Men in Green landed on English shores yet again to play a white-ball series. Earlier, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the team for the England tour, which would fly to the Caribbean Islands for a 2 test and 5 ODI series later on. Per the cricket news latest, Pakistan is treating these two tours as a dress rehearsal for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup scheduled in October 2021.

Schedule for the Tour:

Pakistan is scheduled to play three ODIs and three T20s on the tour. Here’re the details.

Date Match Venue Timing (IST)
July 08, 2021 1st ODI Sophia Gardens, Cardiff 05:30 PM
July 10, 2021 2nd ODI The Lord’s, London 03:30 PM
July 13, 2021 3rd ODI Edgbaston, Birmingham 05:30 PM
July 16, 2021 1st ODI Trent Bridge, Nottingham 11:00 PM
July 18, 2021 2nd ODI Headingley, Leeds 07:00 PM
July 20, 2021 3rd ODI Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester 11:00 PM

Sony Network has the broadcasting rights for the series. It will be televised live on Sony Six and Sony Six HD. If you prefer live action on a digital platform, SonyLiv is your destination.

The Bi-format Squad:

Pakistan’s batting mainstay, Babar Azam would lead the side while all-rounder Shadab Khan would be his deputy. The most interesting pick is young Azam Khan who enjoyed a fine run of form in his short T20 career, scoring 743 runs and striking at 157.41. The burly Karachi-lad is the son of Moin Khan, the former Pakistani wicketkeeper-batsman and a member of the 1992 World Cup-winning team. Even before his debut, he’s making waves across cricket betting websites.

ODI Squad: ODI Squad
Babar Azam (Captain) Babar Azam (Captain)
Shadab Khan (Vice-captain) Shadab Khan (Vice-captain)
Abdullah Shafique Arshad Iqbal
Faheem Ashraf Faheem Ashraf
Fakhar Zaman Fakhar Zaman
Haider Ali Haider Ali
Haris Rauf Haris Rauf
Haris Sohail Azam Khan
Hasan Ali Hasan Ali
Imam-ul-Haq Imad Wasim
Mohammad Hasnain Mohammad Hasnain
Mohammad Nawaz Mohammad Nawaz
Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper) Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper)
Salman Ali Agha Mohammad Hafeez
Sarfaraz Ahmed (Wicketkeeper) Sarfaraz Ahmed (Wicketkeeper)
Saud Shakeel Mohammad Wasim Jnr
Shaheen Shah Afridi Shaheen Shah Afridi
Usman Qadir Usman Qadir
Sharjeel Khan

Also Read: Pakistan Tour of England 2021: Fixtures, Squads, and Venues

Thanks to consistent domestic performance, another uncapped player, Saud Shakeel has booked his place in the white-ball formats. A few players have made a comeback, including Imad Wasim who played his last T20 match in December 2020. Haris Sohail, who previously had fitness issues, has also made a comeback into the ODI outfit. The swashbuckling left-hand bat, Fakhar Zaman has been retained due to his startling performance against South Africa.

The talented all-rounder, Salman Agha has also made his way into the ODI squad. Mohammad Abbas and Naseem Shah were dropped from the white ball setup but included in the Test squad that’ll be playing in the West Indies. Yashir Shah also finds a place in the Test squad but his inclusion depends on fitness.

Follow FantasyBet for more updates of your favourite players and teams.

About FantasyBet Team