Top 10 highest successful run chases in IPL history

The Indian Premier League has seen some of the most scintillating cricket and close finishes over the 14 years from 2008 to 2021. IPL provides some fantastic entertainment over April and May and is easily the biggest tournament in the world of domestic cricket.

However, in 2021, the tournament was brought to an abrupt end because of the bubble breach in May. But the good news is, it is likely to return on September 19 and will be played till October 15.

So, as we wait for the tournament to start again, here are the top 10 run chases in the tournament’s history.

RR vs KXIP, 2020

Rajasthan Royals chased 226/6 to record the highest-ever run chase in the IPL history last year against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in Sharjah.

Batting first, PK scored 223/2 thanks to a Mayank Agarwal century (106) and KL Rahul fifty (69).

Chasing the huge total, RR lost Jos Buttler early but Steve Smith (50), Sanju Samson (85) and Rahul Tewatia (53) helped Rajasthan get over the line with three balls to spare.

MI vs CSK, 2021

Mumbai Indians pulled off a fantastic chase of 219/6 against Chennai Super Kings in this year’s IPL thanks to a Kieron Pollard masterclass.

Batting first, Ambati Rayudu (72*), Faf du Plessis (50) and Moeen Ali (58) scored fifties for CSK to help them reach 218/4 from their 20 overs.

Chasing 219 to win, Mumbai lost wickets despite their players being set. At one point, the game was completely out of Mumbai’s grasp until Pollard turned on the screws and scored a 34-ball 87 to seal the deal for the defending champions.

RR vs DC, 2008

Rajasthan Royals recorded a mammoth chase of 217/7 against the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad.

Batting first, DC scored a huge 214/5 courtesy of an unbeaten Andrew Symonds 53-ball 117 from their 20 overs.

Chasing that, Graeme Smith (71) and Yusuf Pathan (61) starred for RR to help their side win the game with one ball to spare.

DD vs GL, 2017

Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) chased 214/3 against Gujarat Lions to record the fourth-highest chase in the history of the IPL.

The now-defunct Gujarat Lions scored 208/7 after batting first thanks to Suresh Raina’s 77 and a 34-ball 65 from Dinesh Karthik. Chasing the total, Sanju Samson (61) and Rishabh Pant (97) starred for DD as they reached the total with 15 balls to spare.

KXIP vs SRH, 2014

Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) chased 211/4 against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014 in Hyderabad to record the fifth-highest run chase in IPL history.

Naman Ojha starred for SRH, scoring 79 off 36 balls and was also helped by David Warner, who smashed 44 off 23 balls batting in the middle-order as SRH scored 205/5.

Chasing the total, Manan Vohra (47), Wriddhiman Saha (54), Glenn Maxwell (43) and George Bailey (35) all contributed as KXIP won with 8 balls to spare.

CSK vs RCB, 2012

Chennai Super Kings chased down 208/5 from 20 overs following a Faf du Plessis 71 off 46 balls to help CSK beat Bengaluru by five wickets in Chennai.

Batting first, RCB scored 205/8 courtesy of Chris Gayle (68) and Virat Kohli (57). CSK lost Murali Vijay early but Du Plessis along with the middle-order made sure Chennai chased the mammoth score down on the last ball of the game.

CSK vs RCB, 2018

Chennai chased down 207/5 to beat RCB in Bengaluru following an MS Dhoni masterclass.

Batting first, RCB put on 205/8 from their 20 overs. AB de Villiers (68) and Quinton de Kock (53) scored fifties to help RCB reach the score.

Chasing that, CSK lost Shane Watson early and Suresh Raina, Sam Billings and Ravindra Jadeja followed too. Dhoni then joined Ambati Rayudu (82) in the crease to form a partnership. Once Rayudu departed, MS took it upon himself to finish the score and remained not out on 70 off 34 balls.

KXIP vs CSK, 2014

Glenn Maxwell starred for KXIP (now Punjab Kings) as they chased 206/4 to beat CSK in Abu Dhabi.

Batting first, Chennai scored 205/4 from their 20 overs thanks to the fifties from Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum. Chasing the score, Punjab lost two early wickets and Axar Patel followed too in the 6th over. However, Maxwell (95) and David Miller (57*) put on a partnership of 115 runs for the fourth wicket to win the game.

KKR vs RCB, 2019

Kolkata Knight Riders pulled off a thriller thanks to some Andre Russell show in Bengaluru.

Chasing 206/5 to win following a Virat Kohli 49-ball 84, Kolkata were tottering at 153/5 from 17 overs. Russell then entered the show and took the game away from Bangalore with a breath-taking 48 off 13 balls to win the game for KKR with five balls to go. The West Indian hit 7 sixes and one four in his 13-ball innings to pull off a miracle.

CSK vs KKR, 2018

CSK chased a mammoth total of 205/5 against KKR thanks to a late show from Jadeja and a Billings 23-ball 56.

Batting first, KKR scored 202/6 following a Russell show. Dre Russ scored 88 off 36 balls as CSK struggled to contain him.

Following Billings’ fiery fifty, Jadeja ended the game with a six with a ball to spare.

About FantasyBet Team