Top 7 Batsmen With the Highest Score in an Individual Innings in the IPL History

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen some fantastic innings in the 14 years of IPL. From Brendon McCullum’s onslaught on the opening day of the tournament on April 18, 2008, to Chris Gayle’s whirlwind knock against Pune Warriors in 2013, the IPL has only grown bigger and better in terms of entertainment and drama on the field.

The IPL so far has seen a total of 38 centurions in the 14 seasons including the currently suspended 2021 season. A total of 38 players have scored centuries with Chris Gayle scoring the most in terms of numbers — 6. Virat Kohli is second with five while Australia’s David Warner and Shane Watson are joint third with four to their name.

This year’s IPL, which was stopped abruptly early on in May because of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and rising cases in India, also saw three centuries with Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson and Jos Buttler and Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Devdutt Padikkal hitting one each. Samson’s century came against Punjab Kings while Buttler smashed a ton versus Sunrisers Hyderabad. Padikkal’s ton came against the Royals.

With IPL likely to return on September 19 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and go on till October 15 according to current reports, we take a look at the highest individual scores in an innings by a batsman across the 14 seasons of the IPL.


Chris Gayle has the highest score in the history of the IPL, which came against now-defunct PW when he scored 175 in Bengaluru in 2013 while playing for RCB.

Gayle scored 175 off 66 balls on the day. He smashed 13 fours and 17 sixes at a strike-rate of 265.15.

His second-highest score came against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2012 when he was not out on 128 off 62 balls, where he hit seven fours and 13 sixes. This was also as an RCB player.


Brendon McCullum set the stage alight on the opening day of the IPL when he smashed a breathtaking century for Kolkata Knight Riders against RCB in Bengaluru in 2008.

McCullum smashed 158 not out off 73 balls, hitting 10 fours and 13 sixes at a strike-rate of 216.43.


AB de Villiers smashed a fantastic century while playing for RCB against Mumbai Indians in 2015 at the Wankhede Stadium.

De Villiers hit 133 not out off 59 balls on the day. AB smashed 19 fours and four maximums at a strike-rate of 225.42.

South African’s second-highest score in the IPL is 129 not out off 52 balls against Gujarat Lions in 2016. AB had hit 10 fours and 12 six that day.


KL Rahul‘s highest score came against his ex-team RCB in 2020 when the IPL was held in UAE last year.

The PK captain registered 132 not out off 69 balls, smashing 14 fours and seven sixes at a strike-rate of 191.30.


Rishabh Pant set the stage alight while playing for Delhi against SRH in 2018 when he scored a swashbuckling century.

Pant scored 128 not out off 63 balls, hitting 15 fours and seven sixes at a strike-rate of 203.17.


Murali Vijay’s highest score came for Chennai Super Kings in 2010 against RR in Chennai.

Vijay smashed 127 off 56 balls, hitting eight fours and 11 sixes at a strike-rate of 226.78.


David Warner smashed a fantastic century for SRH against KKR in Hyderabad in 2017.

Warner scored 126 off 59 balls, smashing 10 fours and eight sixes at a strike rate of 213.55.

About FantasyBet Team