Top bowlers who bowled most dot balls in IPL history till 2020

The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League has already started and runs are being scored at the rate of knots already. So far, there have already been two scores of over 200 in the same match and a century as well from Sanju Samson.

Following a year in the United Arab Emirates in 2020, the IPL is back in India for the 2021 season and batsmen have already looked much more at ease in the two venues that have hosted the matches out of the six so far in Chennai and Mumbai. Scoring in Chennai has been difficult after the 15th over of the innings this year while chasing but batsmen have still managed to score at a fair rate overall.

With bowlers once again getting under the hammer, dot balls and economy rates become very important and today we take a look at the bowlers with the most number of dot balls before the IPL 2021 season.


Harbhajan Singh has been a part of the IPL since its inception in 2008 and has only played for three franchises so far in Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and now the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Bhajji has won the IPL thrice as a player in 2013 (MI), 2015 (MI) and 2018 (CSK). The off-spinner is a veteran in the cricketing circuit and continues to run his magic with the ball whenever given an opportunity.

The off-spinner leads the charts in terms of most dots bowled in the IPL with 1,249 dot balls to his name from 160 IPL games before this season. Overall, he has taken 150 wickets from 162 matches and bowled a total of 1,258 dot balls in the IPL. He has an economy rate of 7.06 and has one four-wicket and five-wicket haul each.

R ASHWIN – 1,169

R Ashwin has been a traveller in terms of teams played for. He started with Chennai Super Kings, played for Rising Pune Supergiants, moved to Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) and is now with the Delhi Capitals.

Much like Harbhajan, Ashwin has been in the IPL for a long time and is one of the smartest bowlers the competition has ever seen. He has won the IPL twice with CSK in 2010 and 2011.

Ashwin is second in the list of most dot balls bowled in the IPL behind Harbhajan. He bowled 1,169 dot balls before the IPL 2021 season in 154 matches and overall has 1,184 dot balls to his name. He has 139 wickets from 156 matches overall and an economy rate of 6.89. Ash has one four-wicket haul to his name.


Bhuvneshwar Kumar is only one of the two pacers in this list and leads Mumbai Indians’ Lasith Malinga by 8 dots before the start of the season. Bhuvi has been one of the most consistent bowlers in the IPL with a specialisation of bowling at the death.

Bhuvi was a part of the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad that won the IPL in 2016 under David Warner and before SRH, he played for Pune Warriors India and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The 31-year-old had bowled 1,164 dot balls before the IPL 2021 season in 121 matches. Overall, Bhuvi has bowled 1,184 dot balls in 123 games so far and has taken 138 wickets. He has an economy rate of 7.27 and has two four-wicket hauls and one fifer to his name.


Lasith Malinga counts as one of the greatest imports in the history of the IPL and has only played for Mumbai Indians since the inception of the tournament.

Malinga’s death overs expertise and his ability to bowl yorkers at will made him an extremely difficult bowler to score off. He won the title with MI in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. He was also a part of the 2020 squad before withdrawing himself from the tournament.

The Sri Lankan has bowled a total of 1,155 dot balls in the IPL in 122 matches. Malinga has 170 wickets at an economy rate of 7.14. He has six four-wicket hauls to his name and one five-wicket haul.


Piyush Chawla is the most successful leg-spinner in the history of the IPL and has been playing since the inception of the tournament.

Chawla has played for KKR, KXIP, CSK and is currently with MI. However, he has won only one title with KKR in 2014.

The leg-spinner has bowled 1,148 dot balls before the start of the IPL 2021 season in 164 matches. He has a total of 156 wickets to his name at an economy rate of 7.87. He has two four-wicket hauls to his name.

The IPL will be played from April 9 to May 30 and everyone barring Malinga will have the chance to extend their lead at the top of the charts from the chasing pack.

About FantasyBet Team