Who are the leading six-hitters in IPL history?

Watching a batsman smack the ball over the fence is an exhilarating experience. And, in the Indian Premier League (IPL), it’s a common sight. Each of the eight teams has some power hitters who can clear the fence, easily and frequently. However, some batsmen are more skilled at hitting sixes than others.

Let’s find out who has the record for the highest number of sixes in the history of IPL.

1. Chris Gayle:

Gayle tops the list with a record 351 sixes. 17 of these sixes came in a single match in 2013 when he took the now-defunct Pune Warriors India’s bowlers to the cleaners. Regarded as the most fearsome batsman in contemporary cricket, he’s aggressive, wields great power and bat speed, and can be equally destructive against pace and spin. The Universe Boss took 132 games to hit IPL maximum sixes and rake up 4812 IPL runs at an average of a staggering 41.12. The Jamaican struck those runs at a rate of 150.04, the second-best for batsmen in the list.

2. AB de Villiers:

When it comes to hitting maximums, AB is another usual suspect. The South African has a reputation for 360-degree stroke play. Regardless of the opposition, ground or match situation, he can always send balls flying over the fence with ease. AB has done it on 237 occasions in 157 outings, making him the second-highest six-hitter ever in IPL. His average of 40.47 suggests how consistent AB has been across IPL editions. Plus, he has the best strike rate (152.12) on the list.

3. MS Dhoni:

“Captain Cool” is third on the list with 216 sixes in 183 games. Considered the best finisher ever, MS hits the majority of his sixes in slog overs. He became the first Indian to hit 200 sixes in the 2019 edition and the only captain to hit 200 sixes in the 2020 season. MS achieved the feat in 183 innings. His most famous six came in the World Cup 2011, which was a title-winning shot.

4. Rohit Sharma:

On the heels of MS is Mumbai Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma. His tally of IPL maximum sixes reads 214, just two less than his former India captain. Rohit has been a prolific scorer for MI, amassing 5249 runs at an average of 31.24 and a strike rate of 130.63. He comes across as a highly gifted batsman who can play some breathtaking shots and score quickly.

5. Virat Kohli:

King Kohli makes it to the fifth spot for his 201 IPL maximums. He has the natural ability to hit balls over the fence at will while keeping the scoreboard ticking with quick singles and doubles. In 185 IPL innings, Kohli has accumulated 5911 runs, averaging 38.13 and striking at 130.62.

Position Player Matches Innings Runs Average S Rate Fours Sixes
1. Chris Gayle 133 132 4812 41.12 150.04  388 351
2. AB de Villiers 170 157 4897 40.47 152.12  394 237
3. MS Dhoni 205 183 4632 40.63 136.67  313 216
4. Rohit Sharma 201 196 5249 31.24 130.63 462 214
5. Virat Kohli 193 185 5911 38.13 130.62  507 201
6. Kieron Pollard            165 148 3030 29.70 149.21 198 198
7. Suresh Raina              194 190 5422 33.46 137.26 496  198
8. David Warner 143 143 5257 42.39 141.46 510 195
9. Shane Watson 145 141 3874 30.99 137.91 376 190
10. Robin Uthappa 189 182 4607 27.92 129.99 454 163

About FantasyBet Team