Your Checklist to Orange Cap Winners in all IPLs

The Orange Cap is an ultimate recognition of a batsman’s consistency, skills and temperament. The highest scorer during an IPL edition gets to wear it, after all. Sachin, Hayden, Gayle, Kohli and more – some of the all-time greatest batsmen have had the honour of earning the Orange Cap. It’s that prestigious.

Here’s the list of all Orange Cap winners in IPL.

1. Shaun Marsh:

Team Edition Total Runs
Kings XI Punjab 2008 616

A young, classy Shaun Marsh announced his arrival on the big stage in the inaugural IPL edition with a superb run of form. Shaun scored 616 runs at an impressive average of 68.44 with one century and five fifties to emerge as the IPL’s first Orange Cap winner ever.

2. Mathew Haden:

Team Edition Total Runs
Chennai Super kings 2009 572

The legendry Aussie opener stamped his authority in the second IPL season that was played in South Africa. In 12 outings, Hayden accumulated 572 runs for CSK at a rapid pace, finishing the season with a nearly 150 strike rate and five 50+ scores. He missed out on a century though.

3. Sachin Tendulkar:

Team Edition Total Runs
Mumbai Indians 2010 618

Come 2010, an ageing Sachin decided to do what he does best, score runs in bulk. He finished the edition with 618 runs in 15 outings, averaging 47.53 and striking at a rate of 132.61. Riding high on Sachin’s Orange-cap-worthy performance, MI ended up as the runners up.

4. Chris Gayle :

Team Edition Total Runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2011 608

The swashbuckling West Indian wrecked havoc on bowlers with some stunning power-hitting. His numbers speak for the impact he created. Gayle amassed 608 runs for RCB with a staggering strike rate of 183.13 and an average of 67.55. He hit two centuries and three 50 plus scores.

5. Chris Gayle

Team Edition Total Runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2012 733

Chris Gayle carried his 2011 form into the next edition, becoming the first-ever batsman to cross 700 runs in a single edition. He scored 733 runs in 15 outings with two big centuries and seven fifties. With such splendid back-to-back performances, the legend on Gayle has just grown.

6. Michael Hussey:

Team Edition Total Runs
Chennai Super Kings 2013 733

In the fag-end of his prolific career, it was time for Mr. Cricket to come good. He went on to dominate the edition with some elegant stroke play at top of the order alongside Murali Vijay. In 17 outings, he piled up 733 runs with 6 fifties, averaging 52.35 and striking at 129.5.

7. Robin Uthappa:

Team Edition Total Runs
Kolkata Knight Riders 2014 660

In 2014 IPL, Uthappa rose to the occasion and emerged as the second Indian to don the Orange Cap. Being promoted to the top of the order, Uthappa notched up 660 runs with 5 fifty-plus scores to steer KKR towards the title. He averaged 44 and scored at a brisk rate of 137.78.

8. David Warner:

Team Edition Total Runs
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2015 562

Captaining Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Aussie came up with a startling performance to own the coveted cap. Striking at 156.54, Warner scored 562 runs with 7 fifty-plus scores.

9. Virat Kohli:

Team Edition Total Runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2016 973

The 2016 season belonged to King Kohli who entered IPL with a purple patch. He batted his way to both, the Orange Cap and the record books. Virat Kohli scored 973 runs, a mark that stands to date. Add to it four centuries, the highest for a batsman in a season, his numbers are unbelievable.

10. David Warner:

Team Edition Total Runs
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2017 641

The 2017 edition saw the return of David Warner into the thick of things. The southpaw briskly scored 641 runs in 14 games to emerge as the second player to win the Orange cap twice.

11. Kane Williamson:

Team Edition Total Runs
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2018 735

It was always expected for as classy a batsman as Kane Williamson to outperform the rest and clinch the Orange Cap. In 2018, he did it with 735 runs in 17 outings, scoring at a strike rate of 142.44.

12. David Warner:

Team Edition Total Runs
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019 692

Returning from a one-year ban, Warner had a point to prove. He proved and how. With 692 runs in 12 games at a 69.2 strike rate, Warner earned the Orange Cap for a record third time.

13. KL Rahul:

Team Edition Total Runs
Kings XI Punjab 2020 670

KL Rahul is all class and elegance – a treat to the eye once he gets going. In the previous edition, he led the KXIP from the front, scoring 670 runs with a remarkable century and five fifties. Also, it was Rahul’s third consecutive 500 plus runs in the IPL season – the only batsman to do so.

Stay tuned to this site for the latest additions to this list.

About FantasyBet Team